The Beginning…

Beginner washcloth

Beginner washcloth

This is the very first project I made when I started crocheting. It is a washcloth, right? As you can see it is not great, but this is a great starter project for any beginner. It goes through the major stitches you encounter in patterns: sc (single crochet), hdc (half-double crochet), dc (double crochet), tc (treble crochet). It also steps you through the basics of counting, edging, finishing off your piece and weaving in the ends. With this first piece my edging had too many stitches. Notice how it curls? There is the potential in this piece though…my stitches are consistent and that is what you want to be able to accomplish in the beginning.

I am currently trying to track down the book that I used for this for those that are interested in learning how to crochet. I actually have passed it on to my niece because she was learning how to sew and I thought this would be neat for her to learn too.

Here are a couple of other good books:

How to Crochet:  A Complete Guide for Beginners (Amazon)

A to Z of Crochet (Amazon)

Leave a Reply

